About the Constituency

The Atwima District was created in 1988 under the PNDC regime headed by Ex-President J.J. Rawlings. In a decree signed by President J.A. Kufuor in 2003, the Atwima District was partitioned into two separate districts, Atwima Nwabiagya and Atwima Mponua.

As the population of the Atwima Nwabiagya District exploded, it was granted two (2) constituencies, Nwabiagya South and North, under the First Past the Post election system, or FPP. The Nwabiagya constituency has a more suburban-like community as opposed to the more sub-rural Mponua District.

It is important for any candidate running for office to be conversant with the historical facts of the geographical area they intend to represent. Delegate attachment and expectations may intersect in numerous instances, but each location or constituency is unique due to the composition of the electorate, and therefore the Delegates.